1997 Contemporary A Cappella Recording Awards Nominees


Artist of the Year:
Gas House Gang
Real Group

Studio Album of the Year:
"Face The Music" - Gas House Gang
"Lucky 7" - Rockapella
"Run For Cover" - Nylons
"Sermons and Devotions" - King's Singers
"SoVoSo" - SoVoSo

Live Album of the Year:
"Buzz" - Five O'Clock Shadow
"Exposed" - Trenchcoats
"Live In Stockholm" - The Real Group
"The Live Album" - Extempo

Best Female Vocalist:
Margareta Jalkeus - Real Group
Mary Jane Jones - Extempo
Rhiannon - SoVoSo
Connie Stahl - Five Live

Best Male Vocalist:
Sean Altman - Rockapella
Nicolas Bearde - SoVoSo
Anders Jalkeus - Real Group
Carl Connor-Kelley - M-PACT!

Best Original Pop Song:
"Blackjack" - Boyz Nite Out
"Daisy Simone" - Sean Altman
"Jag Vill Va Med Dig" - Real Group
"Say" - SoVoSo
"Without Love" - Five Live

Best Pop Cover Song:
"Crazy" - Boyz Nite Out
"God Only Knows" - Nylons
"I Love Your Smile" - Five Live
"Straight To My Heart" - Audio Radiance
"Thank You" - SoVoSo

Best Jazz Song:
"Blues In The Night" - Voices Iowa
"In The Cool Cool Cool of the Evening" - Chanticleer
"Let's get Away From It All" - Rockapella
"Waltz For Debby" - Real Group

Best Classical Song:
"Ave Maria" - I Cantori
"Orovela" - Hamlet Gonashvili
"Totus Tuus" - King's Singers
"Wave" - Bulgarian Voices

Best Humorous Song:
"Bionic" - Extempo
"Christmas in LA" - Bobs
"I've Got Rythm" (sic) - Fred
"Stinky Breath" - Cool Shooz

Best Gospel/Contemporary Christian Song:
"Arise My Soul" - Glad
"Deep River" - Dale Warland Singers
"Down By The Riverside" - SoVoSo
"Poor Wayfaring Stranger" - Sweet Deliverance

Best Folk/Progressive Song:
"Black Sheep" - Dale Warland
"Do Not Turn Away" - Flirtations
"Lest We Forget" - Artisan
"Tell My Feet" - No Place For Jennifer

Best Doo-Wop/R&B Song:
"Change In My Life" - M-PACT!
"Love Me Or Leave Me" - Tonic Sol-Fa
"O Holy Night" - Edlos
"River Of Dreams" - Voce

Best Barbershop Song:
"Darkness on the Delta" - 4-Star Collection
"I'm No Account Anymore" - Bay Rum Runners
"Strike Up The Band Medley" - Gas House Gang
"Whatever Happened to Melody" - Masters of Harmony

Best Holiday Song:
"All I Want For Christmas" - Bobs
"Carol of the Bells" - Return to Zero
"Gimme Some Presents" - Edlos
"White Christmas" - Neri Per Caso


Female Best Album:
"Nomansland" - Stanford Counterpoint
"Raising Atlantis" - Tufts Jackson Jills
"Smitty's Place" - UNC Loreleis
"Think On These Things" - Dartmouth Rockapellas

Female Best Song:
"Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover" - Tufts Jackson Jills
"Hand In My Pocket" - Tufts Jackson Jills
"Smooth Operator" - UNC Loreleis
"Solsbury Hill" - UNC Loreleis

Female Best Arrangement:
"Dreams" - Catalina Joos - UNC Loreleis
"Hero" - Shannan Freeman, Susan Frankfort and Josie Bowen - UNC Loreleis
"I Alone" - Erin Morgan - Tufts Jackson Jills
"Silent All These Years" - Kelly Donohue - Tufts Jackson Jills

Female Best Soloist:
Susan Frankfort - UNC Loreleis
Allison Pope - Dartmouth Rockapellas
Dulcie Scanlon - Tufts Jackson Jills
Kasey Jeffcoat - Tufts Jackson Jills

Mixed Best Album:
"After Silence" - Stanford Talisman A Cappella
"Earidescence" - U Michigan Amazin' Blue
"Hat Sale! Get Mama!" - Tufts Amalgamates
"meansaylove" - Stanford Mixed Company
"When Mama's Not Around" - U Penn Off The Beat

Mixed Best Song:
"Ironic" - U Penn Off The Beat
"Man In The Mirror" - Tufts Amalgamates
"No More I Love You's" - Stanford Mixed Company
"The Rainmaker" - Stanford Talisman A Cappella

Mixed Best Arrangement:
"Mermaid" - John Clark - Tufts Amalgamates
"Seven Days" - Lyell Haynes - U Michigan Amazin' Blue
"Why Would I Cry For You" - Brian Fehlau - Harvard-Radcliffe Opportunes
"You Oughta Know" - Rob Redei - U Penn Off The Beat

Mixed Best Soloist:
Nicole Green - Harvard-Radcliffe Callbacks
Osi Imeokparia - Stanford Everyday People
Alex Jarige - U Penn Off The Beat
Crystal McCreary - Stanford Everyday People

Male Best Album:
"Aftershock" - U Illinois Xtension Chords
"Clapping Joes" - Middlebury Dissapated Eight
"Espiritus" - Wesleyan Spirits
"Tuesday Morning" - Yale Whiffenpoofs

Male Best Song:
"For What It's Worth" - Middlebury D8
"I Will Back You Up" - Yale Duke'smen
"New Hymn" - Yale Whiffenpoofs
"With Or Without You" - Tufts Beelzebubs

Male Best Arrangement:
"Ordinary World" - David Wilner - U Illinois Xtension Chords
"Saturday" - Anand Nayak/BQTP - Wesleyan Spirits
"Shape Of My Heart" - Todd Herzog - Tufts Beelzebubs
"Walkin' In Memphis" - Dave Hannah - Conn College CoCo Beaux

Male Best Soloist:
Ryan Behling - U Illinois Other Guys
Chris Burke - Emory No Strings Attached
Winston Miller - Conn College Co Co Beaux
Chiadi Ndumele - Johns Hopkins U Allnighters